World Championships Championships

VGC Rule Set:

Usable Games Pokémon Omega Ruby, Pokémon Alpha Sapphire
Battle Type: Double Battle
Pokémon Restrictions: National Pokédex.
Banned Pokémon: Mewtwo, Mew, Lugia, Ho-Oh, Celebi, Kyogre, Groudon, Rayquaza, Jirachi, Deoxys, Dialga, Palkia, Giratina, Phione, Manaphy, Darkrai, Shaymin, Arceus, Victini, Reshiram, Zekrom, Kyurem, Keldeo, Meloetta, Genesect, Xerneas, Yveltal, Zygarde, and Diancie, Pokémon not captured or hatched in X, Y, Omega Ruby & Alpha Sapphire
Banned Items: Soul Dew
Clauses: No same Pokémon, No same item
Players may only use Pokémon with items or moves obtained in Pokémon X, Y, Omega Ruby or Alpha Sapphire


Hynes Convention Center
900 Boylston Street
MA 02115

21st - 23rd August 2015

Sharpedo /
Level 50
Ability:Speed Boost
Hold Item:

Adamant Nature.
Date of Receiving
Worlds 2015. Apparently had a fateful encounter at Lv. 50


The Pokémon World Championships are not open to all, but rather require participants to earn Championship Points through Internet Competitions, Premier Challenges, Regional Championships and National Championships in their location of residence. Based on this, the invitations go out as follows.

North AmericaTop 24Top 40Top 40
EuropeTop 36Top 60Top 60
Latin AmericaTop 10Top 18Top 18
Asia PacificTop 10Top 8Top 8
South AfricaTop 2Top 2Top 2

In addition to that, winners of the Top 4 from the 2014 series in all divisions will receive invitations to the World Championships. The Top 8 players in the US, 16 players in Europe, 2 in Latin America and 2 in Asia Pacific will receive travel awards and can skip the first day. For the first time, in 2015 there are no Last Chance Qualifiers to be held on the Friday to allow for entry into Worlds without an invite. The schedule is as follows:


Swiss Rounds. Any player with less than 2 losses at the end will progress to Saturday.


Swiss Rounds for winners from Friday and players with a Day 2 invitation. It ends with a Top 8 Top Cut.


The Finals.

The Top 2 in each division will receive a travel award to the World Championships next year, while Top 3 & 4 receive an invitation to the 2016 Championships.